Finding Favorites

Going About it in a Backwards Fashion

More often than not, I first choose a place which has had wildflowers in the past, or rumors of them, then I go there, explore the area and scout out the blooming possibilities (as it were).

However, sometimes I do it all in reverse. I see a photo of an intriguing or exotic or unusual wildflower, usually on Flickr, which hosts many of my photographs as well. If I am lucky the photo will have location information. It seems that many flower/macro photographers are not only pretty serious about  their images but also about the information which accompanies them.

In this post I am going to try to list all the places I have found a particular wildflower.



Columbine

Crimson Columbine,  Western Columbine,   Aquilegia formosa

Marin Headlands, Sausalito, Marin County, CA
Sugarloaf Ridge Sate Park, Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA
Freezeout Road, Duncan’s Mills, Sonoma County, CA
Sonoma Mountain,  Sonoma County, CA

Golden Fairy Lantern,  Calochortus amabalis

Walker Ridge Road, Colusa County, CA
Pine Flat Road, Alexander Valley, Sonoma County, CA
St Helena Road, Sonoma County, CA<
Spring Mountain Road, Napa County, CA
Freezeout Road, Duncan’s Mills, Sonoma County, CA
Willow Creek Road,  Sonoma Coast State Park, Sonoma County, CA<
Lake Hennessey, Napa County, CA

California Fawn Lily, Erythronium californicum

High Valley Ridge Road,  Lake County, CA
Pine Flat Road, Alexander Valley, Sonoma County, California

Blog Post-Pine Flat Road

Pipestem Clematis,  Clematis lasiantha

Annadel State Park, Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Lace Pods, Thysanocarpus laciniatus

Spring Lake Regional Park, Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA
Veterans Memorial Trail, Carissa Ave, Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Elegant Clarkia,  Clarkia unguiculata

Pine Flat Road, Alexander Valley, Sonoma County, CA

2 responses to “Finding Favorites

  1. Hi Sara,
    Your photo of the Fawn Lilies is beautiful.

    My husband, Rob Badger, and I are working on a book on wildflowers: “Impressions of Spring: Wildflowers of the West on Our Public Lands” you can see a virtual copy of the book at http://www.blurb.com/books/1853275

    We would love to include the Fawn Lily. Are they still out or have we missed them?

    If they are still out where should we look for them and how long do you think they will be blooming.

    I am guessing that we missed them this year.

    If we missed them this year when do you recommend finding them next year?

    We live in southern Marin.

    Thank you for sharing your experiences and photos.

    Nita Winter
    415-339-1310

  2. Hi Nita
    Thanks for visiting my Wildflower Blog-I actually checked out your website last week and found it quite interesting.

    About those Fawn Lilies…

    On my Wildflower Sightings page you will find links to maps pinpointing the exact location of my 2012 discoveries of this very pretty flower.
    I saw a multitude of the Lilies in High Valley on April 14 2012, and a couple far along Pine Flat Road on April 28 2012. As Spring was a littler weird this year, I think, these dates can only tell you an approximate time to start looking for these beauties next year.

    I hope this helps you. Please keep in touch!

    Warm regards,
    Sara

    flickr
    photography website
    DogBlog
    The Wildflower Scout

Comments are closed.